Preparing for Snow

Image

Image

Image

Snow is a big deal here below the Mason Dixon line. If we see two snow days a year of an inch or more we parade in the streets. Or rather we pile up on 95 and curse the day that snow was ever invented and wish for the 112 degree days of summer. But I digress. Sometimes snow does arrive.

112_4324

If you are a parent nothing is worse than having your littles wake up and be anxious to play in the snow and you realize you have nothing for them to wear but snowpants that are two sizes to small and one glove.

Years ago this would have been a scene from own life. Until I learned to plan.

One of the best ways to save money is to plan ahead. I do my best planning during yard sale season. Here in the South yard sale season runs from March to November.

All of my children’s snow gear this year has been purchased at a yard sale. With the exception of two coats. I did not pay more than 25 cents a piece for an item. All of the gear came to under $10. It could have cost hundreds. This would have broken us and been out of line with my saving money mantra.

This summer when it was baking hot I kept my eyes out for snow gear. Hats, mittens, boots, gloves, coats and snow pants. I just washed them, put them aside and waited.

112_4315

 

112_4329

 

112_4317

When the snow finally did come(a week later) the kids were overjoyed that each had their own gloves, hats and snow pants and were out the door in 5 minutes. I was overjoyed that I had planned well and SAVED hundreds.

Pretty fancy right?

3 thoughts on “Preparing for Snow

  1. That is exactly what I do, too. Yard sales are the bomb and sooo worth the time and gas. They are cheaper than thrift stores, too. Great post. You are a good writer. Thank you for entering my giveaway and good luck!

Leave a Reply

