Cuban Bread-Tightwad Gazette Recipe

Image

David and Nadi had way to much with the charcoals before we started with the bread.

I love to make bread. Love it. I am just not crazy about the time it takes and the amount of mess created while making it. This weekend I made Cuban Bread from The Complete Tightwad Gazette and I was delighted to see how quickly it came together.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

In about an hour and a half we had lovely fresh bread for dinner.

Check out the recipe.

Cuban Bread
5-6 cups all-purpose flour (you can use 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white)
2 Tbsp dry yeast  
2 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp salt(I did not use this much and it was fine)
2 c. hot water (just hot from the tap)
1 T. sesame or poppy seeds or oats( I used Chia seeds)

1. Pre heat oven to 400 degrees
2. Mix 4 cups of the flour with the yeast, sugar, and salt.
3. Pour in hot water and beat 100 strokes, or 3 minutes with a mixer.  
4. Stir in the remaining flour until the dough is no longer sticky. 
5. Knead 8 minutes.  
6. Place the dough in a greased bowl and cover with damp towel.(I greased the bowl with coconut oil)
7. Let rise 15 minutes.
8. Punch down. 
9. Divide into 2 pieces, shape into 2 round loaves and place on
baking sheet.  
10. Cut an X 1/2 inch deep on top with sharp knife.  Brush with
water and sprinkle with seeds or oats.
11. Bake 40-50 minutes until deep golden brown.

I have also seen this recipe online where instead of preheating the oven, the oven is turned on once the dough is placed inside. I have not tried this, but I 
imagine it would save on electricity $$. 


Try it out. You will not be sorry. 

Pretty fancy right?

Let me know if you try it and like it!
Leave a Reply

