Are your children deprived?

Image

Are your children deprived?

Do they lack for things that should be provided for them?

Apparently mine are.

I have heard it many times.

Now when I think of a deprived child, I think about a small tyke who is living in a shack without a roof and eating only a small cup of rice a day. Do you remember the Feed the Children commercials with Sally Struthers?

I do.

To me the images in those commercials depict true deprivation.

I have been told more than a few times in the last few years that my children are deprived.

Deprived because I wouldn’t take them to McDonald’s.

Deprived because I wouldn’t  allow them to attend traditional school and forced them to be homeschooled.

My vegetarian children, were deprived because I wouldn’t let them eat meat.

Deprived because I wouldn’t buy them a Wii or cell phones.

Deprived because I took them on too many field trips and mini vacations.

Sounds like real deprivation right?

Eating beans, being homeschooled, lots of life experiences and no video games.

True Deprivation.

While many in our country will never see true deprivation, I am startled by how our nation’s prosperity has warped the American mind into not being to recognize true depravity.

Our children need love, shelter, food and clothing.

They do not need an xbox, a cell phone,or 1000s of toys.

They need a place to run.

A place to yell and get dirty.

Thats it.

Image

Yesterday, the girls and I took on the mess that was their room. It really was a mess.

Don’t let the picture fool you.

We had piled everything on top of the bed because there wasn’t a place to walk.

They had stopped playing in it because the mess was taking over.

Typically,I don’t require them to be neat nicks. I knew they needed help though when they stopped playing and sleeping in there. That was a warning sign that help may be needed.

We had a blast.

I went into their room with two bags and I told them that one bag was for the things that were broken or trash and that the other bag was for toys or books they felt they wanted to pass on to someone else.  They were quick studies. In no time at all they had filled both the donation bag and the trash bag.

I did not pressure them. I was a little grossed out by the mess but I kept it to myself.

About 40% of the furniture that was in the room was removed. They didn’t want it and it was taking up valuable play real estate.

Lastly, we removed their bed frame and put the box spring and mattress on the floor near a window. I had read alot about the Montesorri Method and floor beds yesterday, and I thought my daughter Moo, who loves things that are simple, would love it.

She did.

We still have a lot of clearing out to do, especially in the clothes department. But this was enough for one day.

Overall, the room is so much more useful. I will have to post some after pictures.

They girls loved it and immediately starting playing.

They had donated ALOT of toys, keeping only what they loved.

They love their plain room full of items that they loved and cherished.

You might say they are deprived.

I say they are happy.

3 thoughts on “Are your children deprived?

  1. My 14 year old is now sleeping on a box spring and mattress on the floor for a month. She had been complaining about her bed taking up to much space. So I agreed to to allow it. I thought it would be the end of the world… It was not!

    • You need to do what ever works. My kids slept great last night. It also help keep stuff and dusty bunnies from accumulating underneath!

  2. My son acknowledges that he is the only child in his class without a DS (or something like that) but also says he loves our evening wrestles, sword fights, checkers, and card games. I don’t mean to sound sanctimonious because as you know, it does take extra effort and energy to be involved in your children’s play. But as they get older, I find they take off and create games on their own that don’t involved electronics.

    We need to do a toy purge. The stuffed animals are killing me. I think I may wait till they’re a bit older because they are still attached to the memories of each stuffy (who gave it to them, what role they play in their games). But clothes…oh, cut me loose. I recently emptied every box and bag of hand-me-downs and picked two or three of each thing in each size (ie shirts, skirts, jeans). I always say I have enough clothes in my attic to clothe a small country. It’s constant work to stay on top of it all.

    While our children are “deprived” in some eyes, we always try to foster a sense of abundance: there is always more than enough food, money, and love to go around.

    Great post; thank you for stopping by my site. I hope to catch up on your posts and look forward to reading more! 🙂

    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

